Widescreen Gaming Forum

[-noun] Web community dedicated to ensuring PC games run properly on your tablet, netbook, personal computer, HDTV and multi-monitor gaming rig.
It is currently 06 Jan 2025, 01:16

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1475 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77 ... 148  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: 06 Mar 2011, 09:07 
Offline

Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 05:40
Posts: 61
I decided to reinstall MW2 last night and the fixer did not work for me in SP. I've used it for Black Ops and it was fine, but MW2 is just not working even though it's recognizing the running game and it toggle on and off in the fixer window.


Top
 Profile  
 


PostPosted: 14 Mar 2011, 20:59 
Offline

Joined: 14 Mar 2011, 20:53
Posts: 2
I got the same problem as _CH_Skyline_, the Widescreen fix wasn't working, detects the game but didn't change anything on the actual game.
Debugging the process I saw it does write into the process memory, but the offsets for the version I've are not valid. (who knows what was overwriting 8)

static Call_of_Duty_6_SP_168()
{
_gameName = "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 SP";
_offsetAspectRatio = 0x75e018;
_offsetLeftHud = 0x936558;
_offsetRightHud= 0x936560;
_offsetXRes = 0x936520;
_offsetYRes = 0x936524;
_offsetScaleH1 = 0x936514;
_offsetScaleH2 = 0x936504;
_offsetScaleV1 = 0x936510;
_offsetScaleV2 = 0x936500;
}


Doing some more digging, I found the values for my version are 0x4000 bytes off from the values in Call_of_Duty_6_SP_168.
e.g: 0x75f018 for "Aspect-Ratio" is 0x762018 in the version of my exe.

---
d:GamesModern Warfare 2>dir iw4*.exe
Volume in drive D is Data

Directory of d:GamesModern Warfare 2

10/11/2009 12:43 3,923,544 iw4mp.exe
10/11/2009 12:43 3,513,944 iw4sp.exe
2 File(s) 7,437,488 bytes
0 Dir(s) 215,279,579,136 bytes free

d:GamesModern Warfare 2>
---

So, hexedit the "Game.Call of Duty 6 SP.dll" search for the values above,
and replace then for the same value plus 0x4000.
0x75e018 -> 0x762018
0x936558 -> 0x93A558

and so on...

After that, I can get 5280x1200 (SoftTh) working fine, correct ratio and fov.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Mar 2011, 10:45 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders
User avatar

Joined: 14 Apr 2007, 02:13
Posts: 1514
The offsets you see there are not the actual offsets that get used. :)

Anyway, there must have been a patch some time to MW2 that went unnoticed.

Steam also uses dynamic binary generation so that may have some role in it, too.

I'll redownload MW2 and try it out.

_________________
Widescreen Fixer - https://www.widescreenfixer.org/

Widescreen Fixer Twitter - https://twitter.com/widescreenfixer
Personal Twitter - https://twitter.com/davidrudie


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Mar 2011, 14:44 
Offline

Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 05:40
Posts: 61
The offsets you see there are not the actual offsets that get used. :)

Anyway, there must have been a patch some time to MW2 that went unnoticed.

Steam also uses dynamic binary generation so that may have some role in it, too.

I'll redownload MW2 and try it out.


Much appreciated as always!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 15 Mar 2011, 18:49 
Offline

Joined: 14 Mar 2011, 20:53
Posts: 2
[quote]The offsets you see there are not the actual offsets that get used. :)


Umm.. not sure what you mean with that.
Those variables contains the offset in memory where the game stored the values, and those are the ones used by your app

public void Enable()
{
int processID = WSFFunctions.GetProcessID(_exeName);
if (processID > 0)
{
this.Enabled = true;
WSFFunctions.AspectRatioSelection = this.AspectRatioSelection;
byte[] aspectRatioByteArray = WSFFunctions.GetAspectRatioByteArray();
float aspectRatio = WSFFunctions.GetAspectRatio();
IntPtr handle = WSFFunctions.OpenProcess(0x38, false, processID);
IntPtr zero = IntPtr.Zero;
WSFFunctions.WriteMemory(handle, (IntPtr) _offsetAspectRatio, aspectRatioByteArray, 4, ref zero);
byte[] buffer2 = WSFFunctions.ReadMemory(handle, (IntPtr) _offsetXRes, 4, ref zero);
byte[] buffer3 = WSFFunctions.ReadMemory(handle, (IntPtr) _offsetYRes, 4, ref zero);
...
...


For my exe those were invalid, running Winhex opening the whole memory for the iw4sp.exe process shows the memory at those addresses been overwrite with the new calculated values.

The only place in the whole code where those variables are assigned is in the constructor:

static Call_of_Duty_6_SP_168() (after the hexedit +0x4000)
{
_gameName = "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 SP";
_gameDescription = "This plugins corrects the aspect-ratio for surround users. It does not modify the field-of-view.";
_gameVersion = "v1.0.168";
_defaultVersion = false;
_timerNeeded = false;
_exeName = "iw4sp";
_valueTitle = "Aspect-Ratio";
_mainHudV = 480f;
_steamPath = @"steamappscommoncall of duty modern warfare 2";
_offsetAspectRatio = 0x762018;
_offsetLeftHud = 0x93a558;
_offsetRightHud = 0x93a560;
_offsetXRes = 0x93a520;
_offsetYRes = 0x93a524;
_offsetScaleH1 = 0x93a514;
_offsetScaleH2 = 0x93a504;
_offsetScaleV1 = 0x93a510;
_offsetScaleV2 = 0x93a500;
}


and different offsets for the 1.75 version:

static Call_of_Duty_6_SP_175()
{
_gameName = "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 SP";
_gameDescription = "This plugins corrects the aspect-ratio for surround users. It does not modify the field-of-view.";
_gameVersion = "v1.0.175";
_defaultVersion = true;
_timerNeeded = false;
_exeName = "iw4sp";
_valueTitle = "Aspect-Ratio";
_mainHudV = 480f;
_steamPath = @"steamappscommoncall of duty modern warfare 2";
_offsetAspectRatio = 0x75f018;
_offsetLeftHud = 0x937558;
_offsetRightHud = 0x937560;
_offsetXRes = 0x937520;
_offsetYRes = 0x937524;
_offsetScaleH1 = 0x937514;
_offsetScaleH2 = 0x937504;
_offsetScaleV1 = 0x937510;
_offsetScaleV2 = 0x937500;
}


Anyway, it does work for me, I just wanted to help others who may be running a different version, or at least try to explain them why it may not work for them.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 Mar 2011, 02:28 
Offline

Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 05:40
Posts: 61
I'm sad to say that, after having just re-installed CoD4 (retail), it is not working either. It shows as working, but is not.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 Mar 2011, 05:29 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders

Joined: 28 Nov 2010, 22:18
Posts: 405
I'm sad to say that, after having just re-installed CoD4 (retail), it is not working either. It shows as working, but is not.


I had that issue to, the steam and retail or mixed up, run the fixer for steam version instead


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 17 Mar 2011, 14:32 
Offline

Joined: 20 Oct 2010, 05:40
Posts: 61
[quote]I'm sad to say that, after having just re-installed CoD4 (retail), it is not working either. It shows as working, but is not.


I had that issue to, the steam and retail or mixed up, run the fixer for steam version instead

I'll try that tonight, thanks.

EDIT: Steam .dll works with the retail version of CoD4 as suggested.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2011, 19:00 
Offline
Insiders
Insiders

Joined: 28 Nov 2010, 22:18
Posts: 405
Black Ops just updated today. :cheers

EDIT:
And 2 hours after I post this the fixer is updated.. Dopefish for president!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2011, 19:56 
Offline

Joined: 25 Mar 2011, 19:15
Posts: 17
Black Ops just updated today. :cheers




Ive just put a ticket in today

that will explain why the fixer isnt working

_________________
AMD Phenom II x6 1090T (BE) @ 3.950Ghz (stable) 1.4375V 24hrs Prime 95 Max heat 48c

Asus Crosshair IV Extreme AM3 890FX @ 3.020Ghz NB 1.3000v

Gskill Trident F3-16000-CL9- 4x2GB @ 2.040 Ghz 9-9-9-27-40-1T 1.65v

Asus ARES 5870x2 & PCS HD 5870 - TriFireX 850Mhz (core) 1200 Mhz (Gddr5)

Crucial C300 SSD SATA III 128gb | 2x WD Caviar Black SATA III 1TB Raid 0 | 2x WD caviar Black SATA II 500gb Raid 0

CoolerMaster M1000Pro (1200watt max) PSU

NZXT Phantom Full ATX 9xCase fans

Corsair H100 CPU cooler Pushpull

3xHannsG HH2501 LCD monitor 25" resolution 5760x1080 (Landscape)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1475 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77 ... 148  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  




Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group